Schedule of Events

*ALL TIMES ARE MOUNTAIN STANDARD TIME (MST). 

Monday, March 1st

10:00am - 11:00am

Food Safety in the Next 6 Months (9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET)
This session will walk through the details of a regulatory transition, and how current food safety topics may be addressed in the next 6 months.  


11:00am – 12:00pm

Regulatory Update (10 am PT/11 am MT/12 pm CT/1 pm ET)
This session will allow representatives from FSIS, CDC, and FDA to discuss agency priorities or updates.


12:00pm – 12:30pm

Break (11 am PT/12 pm MT/1 pm CT/2 pm ET)


12:30pm – 1:00pm

Industry-Wide Foreign Material Effort Update (11:30 am PT/12:30 pm MT/1:30 pm CT/2:30 pm ET)
This session will provide an update on the Foreign Material Working Group documents and the next steps expected for outreach.


1:00pm – 1:30pm

Beef Industry & Regulatory STEC Outlook (12 pm PT/1 pm MT/2 pm CT/3 pm ET)
This session will outline the impact of upcoming STEC regulatory changes on beef suppliers & grinders.


Tuesday, March 2nd

10:00am - 10:20am

Salmonella Roadmap (9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET)
This session will provide attendees a better understanding of USDA FSIS's present and future vision for Salmonella control in beef.


10:20am - 10:50am

Salmonella Risk Assessment and Quantification (9:20 am PT/10:20 am MT/11:20 pm CT/12:20 pm ET) 
This session will provide an overview of the use of a risk assessment and quantification testing for Salmonella to advance public health outcomes.


10:50am - 11:00am

Break (9:50 am PT/10:50 am MT/11:50 am CT/12:50 pm ET)


11:00am - 11:30am

Salmonella Testing Toolbox - Prevalence, Quantification and Beyond (10 am PT/11 am MT/12 pm CT/1 pm ET)
This session will provide information on the technologies available for Salmonella testing.


11:30am - 12:20pm

Salmonella Research Updates (10:30 am PT/11:30 am MT/12:30 pm CT/1:30 pm ET)
This session will provide updates on the research projects that are being conducted or have been conducted on Salmonella in beef.


12:20pm - 12:30pm

Break (11:20 am PT/12:20 pm MT/1:20 pm CT/2:20 pm ET)


12:30pm - 2:00pm

Industry Perspective Panel and Brainstorming Call to Action (11:30 am PT/12:30 pm MT/11:30 pm CT/2:30 pm ET)
This session will provide insights from beef industry leaders on Salmonella identification and control and what they see as next for the industry.


Wednesday, March 3rd

10:00am - 11:00am

Under the Radar/On the Radar – Hot Topic Updates (9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET)
This session will provide hot topic updates ranging across several different areas that might be under or already on your radar in the coming year.


11:00am - 12:00pm

For the Leaders - Perspectives on Acquisition and Retention of Food Safety Professionals (10 am PT/11 am MT/12 pm CT/1 pm ET)
This session will provide an understanding of the perception of incoming professional talent with regard to career opportunities in food safety and discuss strategies to attract, acquire and retain long-term talent in this sector.


12:00pm - 12:30pm

Break (11 am PT/12 pm MT/1 pm CT/2 pm ET)


12:30pm - 1:30pm

Of the Leaders – Food Safety Perspectives from Today’s Industry Leaders (11:30 am PT/12:30 pm MT/1:30 pm CT/2:30 pm ET)
This session will explore BIFSCo's history, discuss current activities, and think about what our future might hold.

Thursday, March 4th

10:00am - 12:00pm

BIFSCo Member Meeting